NIU Law Faculty Host Third Annual Junior Scholars Conference

NIU Law held its Third Annual Junior Scholars Conference on October 2.  The annual conference offers junior scholars the opportunity to present their works-in-progress; to receive feedback from their colleagues, including senior faculty; and to network with other legal scholars from across the country.

Dean Cassandra L. Hill gives kicks off the Third Annual Junior Scholars Conference with opening remarks.

“This exchange is one of the things that makes our profession so special – we invest in each other’s growth and success,” said NIU Law Dean Cassandra L. Hill in her opening remarks to the scholars.  “By staying up-to-date and engaged in research, we, as law professors, remain on top of emerging issues and can impart that knowledge to our students.”

This was the largest conference to date with thirty-three junior scholars presenting papers and twenty senior scholars serving as commenters. Altogether there were twenty-eight different law schools represented from across the country.

The day-long conference featured a variety of works-in-progress topics presented by the scholars.  The morning session topics included securities law, ethics, criminal law, environmental law, international legal frameworks and COVID-19 and policing inequities. The afternoon sessions included genetic modification, gender/age and its presence in the law, corporate relationships and incentives, empirical analysis and the courts, and the administrative state.

This year’s meeting also introduced two new programming events to the conference schedule.  Associate Dean and Professor Jessica Erikson from the University of Richmond School of Law served as the keynote speaker and provided great tips to the faculty on teaching during a pandemic.  In addition, valuable advice was given during a panel discussion on tenure tips with Professors Brigham Daniels (BYU J. Reuben Clark Law School), Carissa Hessick (UNC School of Law), and Yolanda King (NIU Law). The panel was moderated by Sam Brunson (Loyola University of Chicago School of Law).

The 2020 planning committee members for the Third Annual Junior Scholars Conference are NIU Law Professors Colleen Boraca, Sarah Fox, Heidi Kuehl, Dan McConkie, Michael Oswalt, and Matt Timko.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email